The drinking fountain was moved to South Norwood Hill from 25 South Norwood High Street and belongs to the local residents, although ownership is retained by London Borough of Croydon.
The origins are fairly obscure, but it is believed to have been installed for local errand boys and tradespeople to provide them with refreshment as they made their way to houses on the Hill.
Erected in in 1887 in honour of Queen Victoria’s Golden Jubilee, it was provided by the Metropolitan Cattle Trough and Drinking Fountain Association and funds were collected by a Mr. A.P.C Coote of 12 Lancaster Road. Mr Coote remains a bit of a mystery as nothing remains on local records about him, and by 1889 was no longer living at the property
His legacy however remains as a stunning little treasure in the heart of our community.